CBE Life Sciences Education







Editor-in-Chief

Erin Dolan University of Texas at Austin edolan@austin.utexas.edu

Senior Editors

Sarah Elgin Washington University in St. Louis selgin@biology.wustl.edu

Editors

James Hewlett Finger Lakes Community College hewletja@flcc.edu

Jennifer Knight University of Colorado, Boulder jennifer.knight@colorado.edu

Jay Labov National Research Council jlabov@nas.edu

Mary Lee Ledbetter College of the Holy Cross mledbett@holycross.edu

Kelly Mack Association of American Colleges and Universities mack@aacu.org

David Marcey California Lutheran University marcey@clunet.edu

Kenneth Miller Brown University kenneth_miller@brown.edu

Jennifer Momsen North Dakota State University Jennifer.Momsen@ndsu.edu

Ross Nehm Stony Brook University ross.nehm@stonybrook.edu

Diane K. O'Dowd University of California, Irvine dkodowd@uci.edu

Publisher

W. Mark Leader ASCB Publications Director Jose Herrera Western New Mexico University jose.hererra@wnmu.edu

Nancy Pelaez Purdue University npelaez@purdue.edu

Jeff Schinske De Anza College schinskejeff@fhda.edu

Hannah Sevian University of Massachusetts Boston Hannah.Sevian@umb.edu

Michèle Shuster New Mexico State University mshuster@nmsu.edu

Michelle Smith University of Maine michelle.K.smith@maine.edu

Marilyne Stains University of Nebraska, Lincoln mstains2@unl.edu

Elisa Stone University of California, Berkeley emstone@berkeley.edu

Marshall Sundberg Emporia State University sundberm@esumail.emporia.edu

Kimberly Tanner San Francisco State University kdtanner@sfsu.edu

Debra Tomanek University of Arizona dtomanek@u.arizona.edu

Mary Pat Wenderoth University of Washington mpw@u.washington.edu

Thea Clarke ASCB Director of Communications and Education

CBE—*Life Sciences Education* (ISSN 1931-7913) is published online quarterly (one volume per year) by The American Society for Cell Biology, 8120 Woodmont Avenue, Suite 750, Bethesda, MD 20814-2762, USA; www.ascb.org. The journal, which is accessible at www.lifescied.org and www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov, is supported in part by a grant from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. "ASCB," "The American Society for Cell Biology," "iBioSeminars," and "Molecular Biology of the Cell" are registered trademarks of The American Society for Cell Biology. "The Cell: An Image Library" is a common law trademark of The American Society for Cell Biology.

A. Malcolm Campbell Davidson College macampbell@davidson.edu

Bruce Alberts University of California, San Francisco balberts@ucsf.edu

Deborah Allen University of Delaware deallen@udel.edu

Elizabeth Ambos *Council on Undergraduate Research eambos@cur.org*

Daron Barnard Worcester State College daron.barnard@worcester.edu

Janet Batzli University of Wisconsin-Madison jcbatzli@wisc.edu

Katayoun Chamany Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Arts chamanyk@newschool.edu

Eric Chudler University of Washington chudler@u.washington.edu

James Collins Arizona State University jcollins@asu.edu

Clarissa Dirks Evergreen State College dirksc@evergreen.edu

Graham F. Hatfull University of Pittsburgh gfh@pitt.edu

Stefano Bertuzzi ASCB Executive Director